Alert: SW101 will be closing down as of April 1, 2019. Read More.

Yamaha AW4416

 
       
 
Feb 11, 2005, 07:54 AM

Anybody else out there recording with a Yamaha AW4416? If so, I wouldn’t mind connecting to talk about different tricks for getting the most from the machine. I have had mine for a couple of years, and use it extensively, but I am still scratching the surface of what it is capable of doing. I have learned some things along the way and would love to exchange tips and tricks with anybody else who is using one.

wes

 
     
wes pohl Joined Feb 08, 2005
  • Rank
  • Rank
  • Rank

Send PM

 
Feb 13, 2005, 12:23 PM

I posted 2 Links before but for some reason they’re gone now.
Let’s try this again:

I own an AW4416 also.
These are two sites that are way too valuable to pass up.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/AW4416/

http://www.socialentropy.com/aw4416/index.htm

 
     
RoyalTee Joined Feb 12, 2005
  • Rank

Send PM

 
Feb 13, 2005, 08:37 PM

RoyalTee

thanks, I will check those out and see whats up.
How do you like your machine - what type of work are you doing with it?

wes

 
     
wes pohl Joined Feb 08, 2005
  • Rank
  • Rank
  • Rank

Send PM

 
Feb 15, 2005, 09:21 PM

I love the AW.
To me, It’s the most under rated piece of gear you can have.
The only draw back is the steep learning curve but other than that it’s incredible.

I have the Y56K card installed (a Must) and there is an Y96k Now available.
I use it as a Mixer/Pre-amp/Recorder before the PC/Workstation.
AFA Type of work goes.
I do everything with it. It’s the center of my setup and allows me versatility for live recording. Although everything gets finished in the workstation.

 
     
RoyalTee Joined Feb 12, 2005
  • Rank

Send PM

 
Feb 16, 2005, 05:41 AM

RoyalTee

I use mine more on it’s own. I can take to our rehearsal space, mic everything up and do a decent take of the jam. We have recorded some live shows too, where we put everything through the AW and then took the mixed output to the PA mains. I use my computer for doing small parts here and there, and for final mixdown. Tell me more about the cards you have installed. I running mine pretty much as it came. I want to get into interfacing it to my Mac, but I need to look at the different options and cards that are available. I have not used the sample features, or loops yet, nor do I get into any serious editing. i find it complicated to do detailed editing. I am used to doing that on my computer when I used to use Digital Performer.

Wes

 
     
wes pohl Joined Feb 08, 2005
  • Rank
  • Rank
  • Rank

Send PM

 
Feb 16, 2005, 06:49 AM

I don’t do ANY editing in the Y56K for 2 reasons.
- AW Extract (On the Link I posted before)
- It’s Easier to Re-take or use the Virtual Tracks.

The Y56K is great.
Anyone who has one (even some who don’t) Say it’s a Must.
Along with the onboard waves effects which are 2nd to none it has an ADAT lightpipe I/O which is what I use to get 8 tracks digitally into my workstation.

Here’s the Y56K info:
http://www.waves.com/content.asp?id=201

If you want to see my setup Check it out here:
http://home.nyc.rr.com/royaltee/Studio.htm

L8R

 
     
RoyalTee Joined Feb 12, 2005
  • Rank

Send PM

 
Feb 16, 2005, 09:50 AM

I took a look at your rig… Holy s*@#!! Very nice indeed.

and thanks for the other info. There is a lot of content on all of the sites you listed, it will keep me busy for a while.

wes

 
     
wes pohl Joined Feb 08, 2005
  • Rank
  • Rank
  • Rank

Send PM