Where To Go Your First Time In Nashville…

Apr 23, 2016, 04:04 PM

Because Songwriting 101 is a songwriters site, I would only assume most of us wonder where to go on our first trip to Nashville.  First allow me to explain I’m not an expert by any means; but I’ve made many trips to the music city and have visited the tourist sights to include shows at the Ryman, the Grand Ole Opry, and the famous bars downtown on Broadway like Tootsie’s, the Stage, Wild Horse Saloon, and every bar in between.  However; I personally enjoy the clubs that feature writers rounds featuring singer/songwriters performing their own original music.

Now when I say that, please don’t think every singer/songwriter that moved to Nashville and is performing in these clubs are as good as the artists you hear on the radio.  Some are but the fact is; the majority of singer/songwriters performing in writers rounds are only average performers singing average songs they have written.  If you are lucky enough to catch a performance by a former hit songwriter; or even a pro writer that never had the luck to have a hit song, there are some really good performers if you are fortunate enough to catch them.

Even so, whether we attend a writers round with hit writers or average writers there is a lesson for us all.  First would be how our songs would stand up to theirs.  Would our songs be considered average as most of those being sung in a round; or way above average as most of us would hope our songs are (but chances are they are not).  Don’t get discouraged;  knowing the difference will only make us work harder and try to become better songwriters and performers; if we have the ability to be objective and know the difference from an average song compared to a really well written song.