Please help!

Jan 17, 2017, 05:23 PM

I Got a message for a Couple of days ago.
Its about wich chords fit my voice..

Can someone explain what he mean?
Im a beginner and have No clue. I know major scale…
Please help me,
I think the best thing you can do is try singing along with the major scale in one octave in every key. (Like play the scale and try to match the pitch starting on the 3rd fret, then 4th, then 5th.) find out where you’re most comfortable and make that your go to key. Like for me I think my voice sounds best in the key of E, so a lot of my songs tend to end up around there. Then just check out the chords in that key!

Johan Svendsen Joined Nov 29, 2015
  • Rank

Send PM

Jan 17, 2017, 08:59 PM

Hey, Johan.

Can you tell us what you don’t understand? Is it the vocabulary? I think what this person is saying is take a song you like and try playing it in different keys and find which best suits your voice. Do you know what chords belong in the various keys?

Gavin Sinclair Joined Dec 02, 2014
  • Rank
  • Rank
  • Rank
  • Rank

Send PM

Jan 18, 2017, 12:53 PM
Gavin Sinclair - 17 January 2017 08:59 PM

Hey, Johan.

Can you tell us what you don’t understand? Is it the vocabulary? I think what this person is saying is take a song you like and try playing it in different keys and find which best suits your voice. Do you know what chords belong in the various keys?

No I don’t know where in any key where I belong! I don’t know which chord fit My voice.
Sorry for My bad english, im swedish.. :/

Johan Svendsen Joined Nov 29, 2015
  • Rank

Send PM

Jan 19, 2017, 12:31 PM

Johan, I’m afraid I really don’t know what you are asking. Are you looking for specific chords that would suit your voice? If so, I think you are looking at this all wrong. You can’t say, I’m going to sing this in G, but not use a D major chord. You’ve pretty much got to use the chords that belong to the key.