Problem with my accent.

Apr 07, 2017, 03:16 AM

Hi all,
I have been struggling with my accent when it comes to recording my songs. I speak 4 different languages where English is not my first language. With this fact, my accent bothers my pronunciation mostly during vocal take and really gets me frustrated. I need some kind of guidance from experts here.

This is one of my sample projects which is still on progress. Lyric already included in the description area:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3gV3fYqBFa4

Bear in mind this song is not professionally produced. We did everything at home with limited facilities since this project is just a hobby. I need to retake the vocal, back vocal and harmonies in a proper studio, and put bass in the music.

Cheers,

Ketut Rahmadiana Joined Apr 06, 2017
  • Rank

Send PM

Apr 07, 2017, 08:54 AM

Hello Ketut,

I listened to your tracks and made some observations, please keep in mind I am not an expert by any stretch of the imagination, and I am sharing my opinions based on what an average listener might notice.  The music track is obscuring your vocal performance, it is hard to understand what you are trying to convey to your audience, please remember that your audience will not be reading your lyric sheet.  Your musical score sounds good, and I understand this is a rock ballad, however it still seems somewhat long, there is a chance your audience may lose interest in the long run.  You are already aware that some of your enunciation may need some work however I believe you can overcome this.  If you feel uncomfortable with your pronunciation, you may consider having another vocalist sing the lead tracks, you can still do the back tracks and harmonies if you wish.  You can post your lyric in the “Lyrics Library” to get feed back from other site members which may be helpful.  These are just my opinions, meant to hopefully help.  Good luck and best wishes,

Speak soon,

Ron

Music is an international language, say it with a song.