Creative Genius of Paul McCartney’s Bass Lines

Jun 13, 2017, 05:12 PM

Some technical discussion, but interesting observations on the composer’s bass-line contribution to the arrangements.

http://blog.discmakers.com/2016/03/creative-genius-of-paul-mccartneys-bass-lines/?utm_campaign=EA1723&utm_source=DMAudio&utm_medium=Email&spMailingID=54220841&spUserID=MjcwMjk0NzU3S0&spJobID=1181004714&spReportId=MTE4MTAwNDcxNAS2

There will always be another song to be written. Someone will write it. Why not you? http://www.garyeandrews.com

Gary E. Andrews Joined Apr 12, 2005
  • Rank
  • Rank
  • Rank
  • Rank

Send PM

Jul 14, 2017, 04:00 AM

Well, I started playing Bass when I was 15, so took some lessions. At this time I was obsessed with Heavy Metal and stuff…

My teacher always made me to “analyze” the bass-lines of Bands… so we did something like AC/DC, Metallica, Iron Maiden and so..I remember I brought a song to one of the lessions… it was Iron Maidens “Look for the truth” and I told my teacher: “Wow, that´s the best bass line I could ever think of…”... gosh, I was naiv…

After a couple of month my teacher brought some lead sheets of the bass parts Paul McCartney was playing…. I was like… “Ha, Beatles….... ” but when I started to listen more closely I realised… they sound brilliant… and really make a difference ... I was trying to play some of Pauls parts… first I was like “never gonna learn this”... but eventually I got them… the difference was, that Paul never really played Bass like a bass player would do, but like a musician briliant!  ....

And ... ya know, generally a bass player is used to play the bass with two fingers (2nd and 3rd finger… for the rythem) .. Paul did never play this way. He used only his thumb…