Searching for schools

1 of 2

Jun 26, 2017, 03:54 AM

Hello! I have a passion for singing and songwriting. Unfortunatelly, I have little knowledge in said fields, I would very much like to learn everything there is to this trade. I have been writing lyrics for two years now, although writing melodies still puzzles me. I am searching for universities throughout Europe that could give me appropriate education in these fields, considering I am still on a begginers level. I was wondering if anyone on this site could help me, provide some information, or talk to me about their experiences studying songwriting?

Marina Sabo Joined Jun 26, 2017
  • Rank

Send PM

Jun 26, 2017, 04:29 AM

hi marina

i’m no pro by any stretch of the imagination, but i do have some limited ‘academic’ experience. i was
kicked out of guitar class in the 6th grade lol :) when you say ‘schools in europe’ i immediately think
‘wow’ classical training! i once read somewhere ‘be careful what you learn, once the knowledge is
there you can’t unlearn it’. i know that’s no help at all lol, but what i’m getting at is…. how do you
intend to apply your education? what direction do you want to take your music?

JAPOV Joined Jul 02, 2006
  • Rank
  • Rank
  • Rank
  • Rank

Send PM

Jun 26, 2017, 05:07 AM

Hello! In all honesty I would very much like to be an acknowledged singer-songwriter, but I do not see myself as educated or good enough to become one right now. Therefore I wish to get better in expressing my feelings and thoughts through music that a wide range of people will listen to. I have witnessed and felt the power of music when it comes to helping people both physicaly and mentally, the power to make them happy, which is actually what I want to achieve with my music. So in order to get better in writing and composing I am looking for universities that will provide me with appropriate education.

• Rank

Send PM

Jun 26, 2017, 05:16 AM

Hi Marina.