Self Publishing Advice for Amateur Composer?

Jun 07, 2018, 12:45 PM

Hey everyone, I am an amateur piano composer. A few years ago I composed a series of solo piano pieces, one in each key. I wrote out all the sheet music, pretty meticulously, and made less meticulous recordings. I previously emailed a bunch of solo music publishers with a sample of my music, and one of them agreed to publish it, but they eventually stopped responding to me (I got the impression that they were pretty busy).

Anyways, I have some free time right now, so I’m looking into trying to publish my music again. My current plan is to put the recordings on youtube and soundcloud, then link a place to purchase my sheet music. I just discovered a few sites that will publish your sheet music and give you some of the sales. I’m just wondering 1) if anyone has used any of these sites, and if so, which one(s) they reccomend, 2) if I’ve missed any good websites in this category, 3) if anyone has any advice regarding my general plan?

Here are the best websites I’ve found so far:

https://smppress.sheetmusicplus.com/

https://www.musicaneo.com/services/publish_sheet_music.html

http://www.arcomis.com/publishing/

https://www.scoreexchange.com/

For context, I have a day job, and am not at all worried about supporting myself from music sales. However, I thought it would be cool to get my music out there, and see if I could make any money in the process. I know a little about website development, but am shying away from this option due to the time commitment.

Thanks in advance!

mysteriousmonkey29 Joined Jun 07, 2018
  • Rank

Send PM

Jun 07, 2018, 05:48 PM

Hi,